CSCC Recognizes Student Award Winners

CSCC Recognizes Student Award Winners

Monday, May 11, 2020 12:00 AM
Academics, Community, Press Releases, Events, Students, TBR

Each year, Cleveland State Community College holds its annual Student Awards Night ceremony to honor more than 100 students for academic achievements in their respective fields of study, extracurricular clubs and organizations and athletics. The event was scheduled for this week, and although it was canceled, the college wanted to honor those students earning awards for the 2019-2020 academic year.

“This ceremony is one of our great traditions at Cleveland State,” stated Dr. Bill Seymour, CSCC president. “It was disappointing not to shake each of these students’ hands as they received their awards, but nothing can take away the accomplishments of these excellent students. We are proud of every one that has been recognized.”

The students and their awards are as follows:

• Division of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences and Education
Outstanding Achievement in Art — Christine Bebawy
Criminal Justice — Sadie Lane
Early Childhood Education — Chloe Stiles
Education — Jordan Wagers
English — Abby Crawley
Law Enforcement (AAS) — Samuel Guffey
Mass Communications — Miranda Smith
Outstanding Music Award — Analise Bibao, Jewelia Fox
Psychology (AA) — Benjamin Burton
Psychology (AS) — Jocelyn Collins
Excellence in Social Work — Bethany Souza
Spirit of Sociology — Dawn Bremmer
Excellence in Speech — Samantha Benavides, Lauren Bargeron

•. Division of Business and Healthcare
Accounting — Reedhi Bamnelkar
Business — Jennifer Strombergh, Kelly Pace
Computer Information Systems — Reedhi Bamnelkar
Economics — Reedhi Bamnelkar
Healthcare Management — Rebecca Harrill
Medical Assistant — Audrianna Shaw
APT Legal Office — Terri Perian
APT Business Office — Mayra Rafferty
Outstanding Nursing Student Award — Anna Matev
Spirit of Nursing Award — Brandon Patterson

• Division of STEM and Advanced Technologies
Agriculture — Zoe Grosskreutz
Astronomy — Analise Bilbao
Biology — Hailey Guffey
CITE (Computer Information Technologies) — Chris Aragon
Chemistry — Zoe Grosskreutz
Engineering — Seth Ward
Engineering Systems Technology — Matthew Crisp
Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries — William Brewer
General Biology — Jonathan Compton
Math — Seth Ward
— Rodger Hill
Organic Chemistry — Nathaniel Harrell
Pace Award (Calculus) — Britnay Gore
Physics — Jacob Wagner

• Division of Workforce and Economic Development
Cooperative Education — Stacy Harris
Mechatronics Honors Institute — Tyler Baker

• Career Community Awards
Advanced Technologies — Rodger Hill, Michael Cartwright
Arts and Humanities — Analise Bilbao

Business — Reedhi Bamnelkar
Education — Haley Moore
Healthcare — Rachal Carden, Nathaniel Harrell, Mayce Grant
Social Science — Abilene Flowers, Katina Green
STEM — William Brewer

• Special Recognitions
Outstanding Honors Students — Reedhi Bamnelkar, Jannat Saeed
All Tennessee Academic Team (Transfer) — Christine Bebawy, Reedhi Bamnelkar
All Tennessee Academic Team (Workforce) — Haley Stephens, Marcelo Vilalba
CSCC Nominee for Statewide Outstanding — Rodger Hill
Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Award
Outstanding Student Award (Athens Center) — Alexsis McCowan
Norma Davis Student Activity Service Award — Samantha Benavides

• Service Learning
Gold Award — William Brewer, Arielle Gearhart, Hailey Guffey
Silver — Talem Willis, Rachal Carden, Gena Bagwell
Bronze — Tami Herring Dupuy, Kayla Rzeplinski, Michelle Ghorley, Collin Hubbard, Lauren Bodenhamer, Jasmine Celeste, Anna Kelsey, Ashley Smith

• Athletic and Campus Recreation
Dr. George L. Mathis Scholastic — Jordan Wagers, Andrew Carpenter
L. Quentin Lane Sportsmanship — Sadie Lane, Kerry Pratt
Hugh Walker Female Athlete of the Year — Britnay Gore (Women’s Basketball)
Dr. D. F. Adkisson Male Athlete of the Year — DeMonte Person (Men’s Basketball)

• Graduation Marshals
Arts and Humanities — Keira Bundy
Business — Emily White, Trey Johnson
Education — Haley Howard
Healthcare — Keri Eyeler
STEM — Easton Clark

• Leadership Merit Awards
2019-2020 Student Senate Officers — Jessica Couch, parliamentarian (fall);

Nadia Fontaine, parliamentarian (spring);

Abigail Flores, secretary;

Rebecca Phanor, vice president;

Jordan Wagers, president

• Clubs and Organizations 2019-2020 MVPs
Anime Fans of CSCC — Kaleigh Snow
Baptist Collegiate Ministries — Alberto Dominguez
Beta Omicron Chapter (Nursing Honor Society) — Jasmine Celeste
Cheerleading — Miranda Smith
Curtain Call Society — Lindsay Markham
Diversity Club — Nehemias Perez
Early Childhood Education Clu — Jessica Miller
Engineering Club — Kirklin Norman
Environmental Awareness Association — Anna Barbosa
FFA Club — Zoe Grosskreutz
Film Club — Abby Crawley
History Club — Quentin Kaus
LEO Club — Kaitlyn Knight
Medical Assistant Student Association — Brooke Richardson
National Association for Music Education — Jewelia Fox
Phi Theta Kappa — Samantha Benavides
Quill and Ink Creative Writing Club — Luis Alejandro Martinez
Skills USA — Tabitha Swallows
Social Work Club — Bethany Souza
Speech and Debate — Samantha Benavides
Student Ambassadors — Alexis Kyle
Student Art League — Johaira Garcia
Student Nurses’ Association— Gena Bagwell
Vocal Rhapsody — Analise Bilbao
The Wildlife Society — Arielle Gearhart

• Student Senate Awards
Outstanding Senator Award — Jannat Saeed

For more information on Cleveland State Community College, visit Summer semester begins on May 26, and fall semester begins on August 24.

The College System of Tennessee, governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents, is the state’s largest public higher education system, with 13 community colleges, 27 colleges of applied technology and the online TN eCampus serving approximately 140,000 students annually.


Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway