TBR Approves Cleveland State Faculty Promotions and Tenure

TBR Approves Cleveland State Faculty Promotions and Tenure

Andrea Byerly
Wednesday, August 9, 2023 12:00 AM
Academics, Press Releases, All

CLEVELAND, TN – As Cleveland State Community College prepares for the first day of classes on August 21, faculty members were recognized for tenure and promotions. Two faculty members were recommended and approved to receive tenure from the Tennessee Board of Regents while nine others received promotions. Kimberly Harrington of the Math and Engineering Department and Travis Hayes of the Business Department received tenure.

Kimberly Harrington started as adjunct math instructor in 2008. She worked as the math lab specialist before becoming a full-time math instructor in 2018. Harrington currently serves as the Math Department Chair. She earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Lee University and a master’s of mathematics from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Harrington has taught learning support math, statistics, precalculus and applied calculus. She received the Staff Excellence Award in 2018 and the Students’ Choice Outstanding Instructor Award in 2022.

Travis Hayes teaches Principles of Macroeconomics and Principles of Microeconomics for the college. He started as an adjunct instructor during spring 2017 then joined the faculty full-time in fall 2017.  In addition to teaching, he serves on The Advising Committee, The Honors Curriculum Committee, The Curriculum and Academic Standards Committee, and The Accessible Informational Materials and Technology Committee. He earned a bachelor’s degree in economics and a master’s of business administration with a concentration in finance from The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Nine faculty members earned academic promotions. In the Advanced Technologies Department, Chris Jones and Chad Laxton were promoted to Assistant Professors. In the Business Department, Stephen Cramer and Travis Hayes were promoted to Associate Professors. In the Education and Social Sciences Department, Winona Christiansen and Margaret Horten were promoted to Assistant Professors. Jerri Looper in the Humanities Department was promoted to Assistant Professor. In the Nursing Department, Desiree McCarthy became Assistant Professor, and Vickie Still became Associate Professor.

“We are excited for and proud of all of our faculty members who have earned a promotion and/or tenure this past academic year,” stated Dr. Corey Campbell, Vice President for Academic Affairs. “We are fortunate to have them as part of our Cleveland State team.”

Pictured above Kimberly Harrington (right) and Travis Hayes (left) earned tenure.


Pictured front row left to right: Margaret Horten, Desiree McCarthy, Vickie Still. Back row left to right: Travis Hayes, Chris Jones, Chad Laxton, Jerri Looper. Not pictured: Stephen Cramer and Winona Christiansen.


Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway