2021 Community First Award Honorees Selected

Community First Awards

2021 Community First Award Honorees Selected

Napierra Alexander
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 12:00 AM
Press Releases, Employees, TBR, All, Community

CLEVELAND, Tenn. – The results are in! The 6th annual Community First Awards Committee received dozens of nominations seeking to honor individuals across five categories. Nominations were selected based on this year’s theme of putting the community first during a world-wide pandemic. There were a total of 10 honorees for the individual categories.

“This is the first time that the Community First Awards has utilized a special theme,” stated Dr. Bill Seymour, CSCC President. “Given the significance of the pandemic and its impact on every aspect of our lives, it made perfect sense to shine a light on the many ways servant leaders put our communities first during the past 15 months.”

Selections were made for the top candidates for each category, as well as the one person who will be identified as the Community First Person of the Year. The Person of the Year will not be revealed until the Community First Gala on September 21 at the Barn at Faith Farms in Athens, TN.

The categories and honorees are as follows:

  • Arts:

Rick Norton

Associate Editor/Cleveland Daily Banner, Cleveland, TN 

  • Business:

Steve Hartline

Owner/Hartline, LLC., Cleveland, TN 

  • Education:

Alisha Fox

Vice President Finance & Chief Operating Officer/Cleveland State CC, Birchwood, TN 

  • Healthcare:    

Dr. John Jaggers

Pulmonologist/Blue Ridge Pulmonary Medicine, Cleveland, TN 

  • Non-Profit Leadership:

Julie Ladd

Executive Director/Full Circle Medical Center, Athens, TN

  • Philanthropy:

Andrea Boddecker

Owner/Brooks Screen Printing, Cleveland, TN

Brittany Katz

Owner/Terra Running Company and Cleveland Coffee & Market, Cleveland, TN 

  • Public Service:

Seth Sumner

City Manager/City of Athens, Athens, TN 

  • Student Leadership:

Noah Graybeal

Student, McMinn County High School, Athens, TN 

  • Volunteer Service:

Kenneth Archer 

Retired Pharmacist/Archers Family Pharmacy, Sweetwater, TN 


To purchase a ticket or for more information, contact Cindy Dawson at (423) 614-8703. Tickets for the gala will be on sale August 1 online at mycs.cc/communityfirst. All proceeds from the event will go to the CSCC Foundation Annual Campaign. 


Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway