CSCC Students Inducted into Alpha Delta Nu

CSCC Students Inducted into Alpha Delta Nu

Holly Vincent
Friday, January 26, 2018 12:00 AM

CLEVELAND, Tenn. - Seven Cleveland State nursing students were recently inducted into Cleveland State’s Beta Omicron Chapter of Alpha Delta Nu, the honor society for Associate degree nurses.

 Cleveland State’s Beta Omicron Chapter of Alpha Delta Nu, the honor society of the National Association for Associate degree nurses, was chartered in 2012 and has now inducted 70 members. Students must meet stringent requirements to qualify for admission into this honor society including attaining at least a 3.0 overall GPA including nursing courses, demonstrating conduct on campus and in the clinical areas reflecting integrity and professionalism, and completing a capstone project.

 “It is encouraging to watch our students grow into competent entry-level nurse graduates,” stated Dr. Sonya Franklin, Associate Professor of Nursing / Faculty Advisor.  “Honors students truly demonstrate the leaders of each class.”

 The guest speaker for the induction was Dr. Patricia Scott, Clinical Director for the Office of Primary Prevention at the Tennessee Department of Health. Scott challenged students to use their acquired leadership skills to change and improve healthcare in Tennessee, encouraging them to civic engagement beyond clinical treatments to make a difference in their communities by promoting a culture of health. Honors students shared dreams and expressed ambition to engage in increasing access to healthcare, educating others, and leading prevention initiatives. Each of the seven students received the Alpha Delta Nu pin from Dr. Sonya Franklin and a rose from Director of Nursing, Nancy Thomas.

 Nancy Thomas, Associate Professor of Nursing / Faculty Advisor, stated, “We are proud of these students and their accomplishments, and we are pleased to recognize the excellence they have demonstrated in their nursing studies.”

 For more information on CSCC’s Nursing Department or the Beta Omicron Chapter of Alpha Delta Nu, contact (423) 478-6228.

Photo Cutline:  Alpha Delta Nu Inductees Cienna Neal, Tori Johnson, Monica Forry, Dr. Patricia Scott, guest speaker, and Inductees Jaclyn Griffith, Jada Hampton, Nicole South, and Jennifer Cagle.


Partners & Initiatives

  • Cleveland Bradley Business Incubator
  • America's SBDC Tennesseey
  • Your Skills. Your Future.
  • OneSource
  • Cleveland State Sustainability Initiative
  • TBR The College System of Tennessee
  • TN eCampus
  • Tennessee Transfer Pathway